Sunday, May 27, 2012

The Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon 2012 now accepting entries


The Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon is open to all Bicolano writers and literary enthusiasts writing in any of the Bikol languages. There shall be no discrimination on the basis of age, gender or religion. Contestants under 18 years of age are, however, required to submit a certificate of parental consent.

It will receive entries for the following categories: Poetry, Fiction, Essay, Drama, the Novel and Screenplay for Short Film.
  • Entries for the Rawitdawit (Poetry) category must consist of at least 10 poems but not more than 15 poems.
  • Entries for Osipon (Fiction) should be at least 7 pages in length but should not exceed 12 pages.
  • Entries for Osipon na Pan-aki (Stories for Children) should be at least 5 pages in length but should not exceed 10 pages. Entries with a plot and narrative suitable for an illustrated storybook of at least 30 pages are preferred.    
  • Entries for the Halipot na Pasali na Pan-entanldo na Pan-aki (One-act Play for Children) and the Halipot na Pasali na Pan-entablado (One-act Play) must be of sufficient length to approximate a performing time of at least thirty minutes. Plays for children, however, should be directed principally to promote Bikol values and traditions in the grade school level, ages 7 to 12.
  • Entries for Halawig na Pasali na Pan-entablado (Full-length Play) should have a performing time of at least an hour but not more than an hour and a half.
  • Entries for the Saysay (Essay) category should be at least 5 pages in length but should not exceed 8 pages. Works in creative non-fiction about the Bicolano way of life are preferred.
  • Entries for Nobela (Novel) may deal with any subject, provided it is tackling issues relevant to Bikol realities.
  • Entries for Halipot na Pasali na Pan-pelikula (Screenplay for Short Film) must be unproduced and can approximate a running time of ten to twenty minutes. This new category aims to engender the production of short indie films in the Bikol language and to encourage the creation of more short films in the region.             

Only new, unproduced, and unpublished works are eligible. A work that has been awarded a prize in another contest is not qualified for the awards. All entries must be written in Bikol and must show literary merit and social significance.

Contestants may join in all categories but can submit only one entry per category. Entries must be submitted in four copies, double spaced on 8 1/2 X 11 inches bond paper with one inch margin on all sides and the page number typed consecutively, e.g., 1 of 8, 2 of 8 and so on. Font must be Arial and font size must be 12. Entry must be submitted with the participant’s pseudonym only and not the author’s real name. Author’s name and pseudonym must be submitted in a separate sealed envelope together with a bio-data containing the author’s literary background, an ID picture, and contact information. A notarized declaration of originality and authenticity of authorship must accompany the entry.

Finalists in each of the categories shall receive the Premio Tomas Arejola Diploma of Merit. A top winner will be chosen from among the finalists who shall then receive the Premio Tomas Arejola medallion and P7,000 cash prize. The said category winners are eligible for the Grand Prize, the winner of which shall be named Parasurat kan Taon (Writer of the Year) and will be awarded P12,000.


The category is open to book authors, book designers/ illustrators, anthologists/editors and publishers of Bikol literary titles. To qualify, the book must be written in the Bikol language and anthologized/ edited, designed/illustrated by a Bicolano native or resident. Only titles published and distributed between September 2010 and July 2012 are eligible.

Individuals involved in book publishing may nominate by submitting a copy of the book accompanied by a letter from the nominator testifying to the book’s meritorious contribution to Bikol letters. Copy of winning entry shall remain with and become property of the Premio Arejola.

The winner will receive a testimonial plague, P10,000, and shall be listed in the roster along with the winners of the regular categories and Lifetime Achievement (Masirang na Bituon kan Kabikolan) Award.        

Entries for all categories must be addressed to the Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon, mailed to the address below later than July 30, 2012. Entries sent by mail or courier must be postmarked /invoiced not later than July 25, 2012.

Entries submitted via e-mail must be a Word Document file and sent as an attachment together with the contestant’s bio-data containing his/her literary background and a notarized certification or authenticity of authorship of the entry. The original copy of notarized certification and ID picture must then be sent to PTALB 2012 thru mail. Entries submitted via e-mail must be submitted not later than July 30, 2012.

Failure to comply with any of the requirements shall result in disqualification from the awards.

Copyright of the works remain with the author but the latter grants, assigns and transfers into PTALB the right without necessity of any payment other than the prize which may have been awarded to publish the winning entry or portion thereof as it may at its discretion.

The Premio Arejola has the right of action against the author if it may later on discovered that the participant is not the creator or owner of the copyright to the winning work. The Premio Arejola shall not be liable to any court action if a third party files a case against a winner and/or contestant who plagiarized the work of the said third party.

Winners of all the aforementioned categories shall be responsible for the payment of government taxes.

Names of the finalists will be announced in local weeklies and radio stations on the last week of August 2012. The names of the winners and members of the Board of Judges shall be announced on September 2012 in an awarding ceremony in Naga City commemorating Tomas Arejola’s 147th birth anniversary. 

Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon 2012 
c/o Museo de Caceres, Holy Rosary Minor Seminary 
Elias Angeles St., Naga City, Philippines

No comments:

Post a Comment